Print Icon

IIIrd Webinar on Atmanirbharta in Science at AMD, Hyderabad

IIIrd Webinar on ‘Atmanirbharta in Science’ at AMD, Hyderabad on 27th October, 2021


Atomic Minerals Directorate for Exploration and Research (AMD), Hyderabad, a constituent unit of Department of Atomic Energy (DAE), in association with Indian Nuclear Society (INS), Hyderabad Branch organised the third webinar on ‘Atmanirbharta in Science’ series as part of ongoing ‘Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav’ celebrations in AMD on 27.10.2021. The main function was held in Dr. Homi J. Bhabha Auditorium in the premises of AMD Headquarters, Hyderabad, which was webcast in the virtual platform. Several dignitaries, including the Chief Guest Padma Vibhushan Dr. R. Chidambaram, Former Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission (AEC) and Secretary, DAE and Former Principal Scientific Advisor to the Govt. of India and Shri K.N. Vyas, Chairman, AEC and Secretary, DAE joined the proceedings through virtual mode. The Guest of Honour, Shri P.S. Parihar, Former Director, AMD along with Dr. Dinesh Srivastava, Chairman and Chief Executive, NFC; Rear Admiral Sanjay Chaubey, Chairman and Managing Director, ECIL; Dr. D.K. Sinha, Director, AMD and Chairman, INS, Hyderabad Branch; Dr. Sanjeev Kumar, Head, NCCCM, BARC; Dr. T. Sreenivas, Head, MPD, BARC; Additional Directors, AMD Shri B. Saravanan, Dr. T.S. Sunil Kumar and Shri R. Mamallan graced the occasion with their presence. Dr. D.K. Sinha delivered the welcome address. Shri K.N. Vyas introduced the Chief Guest Padma Vibhushan Dr. R. Chidambaram, who delivered the Invited Talk on ‘The Many Dimensions of Nuclear Energy’. Dr. Chidambaram spoke about the wide-ranging scope of the nuclear energy programme. Thereafter, the Guest of Honour Shri P.S. Parihar addressed the gathering. Senior officials of AMD, Members of INS, students and faculty from various schools and colleges in Hyderabad were present in the audience, while a large number of participants joined the proceedings from various parts of the country through virtual mode. Dr. T.S. Sunil Kumar, Secretary, INS, Hyderabad Branch proposed the vote of thanks. The programme concluded with the rendering of national anthem