Print Icon Council of Management of AMD

The AMD Council was constituted by an office order of Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) in July 1973 and reconstituted periodically. Subsequently, AMD Council was dissolved and Council of Management of AMD was constituted by an office order of Department of Atomic Energy during June 2006 with following functions.

  • To consider and recommend for Government approval the Five Year Plan, Annual Plans and individual Plan projects/ schemes of AMD, keeping in view the general/specific guidelines of the Government/Planning Commission, in this regard.
  • To consider and recommend for Government approval the Annual Budget Estimates and Revised Estimates of AMD, comprising both non-Plan and Plan expenditure/receipts.
  • To consider and approve the annual programme of work of AMD in line with the above.
  • To periodically review the progress of Plan projects/schemes and other important scientific/technical activities of AMD and make suggestions for effective implementation thereof.
  • To consider and approve or recommend for approval of the competent authority, expenditure on new (non-plan) projects as well as proposals for award of contracts for works, purchase of equipment/machinery/materials/supplies and consultancies in accordance with the scheme of delegation of financial powers separately notified by the DAE from time to time.
  • To consider and approve proposals from Director, AMD, for grant of extra-ordinary leave/study leave for higher studies abroad or within India, in respect of officers of AMD.
  • To consider matters connected with scientific/technical collaboration including entering into commercial joint ventures or Memoranda of Understanding with other institutions/organisations within the country (outside DAE) or abroad.
  • To consider and approve any new R & D activity within the organisation, not included in any specific (Plan/non-Plan) scheme/ project.
  • To consider and approve (or recommend for approval of the competent authority) pricing of products and services of AMD, in accordance with the specific/general guidelines and delegation of powers on the subject.
  • To consider and approve proposals received from Director, AMD, in respect of promotion of scientific/technical staff in relaxation of the existing norms in that behalf.
  • To consider and make recommendations on proposals for creation of additional posts, (except additional posts to accommodate promotions under the merit promotion scheme), measures for staff welfare and incentives and all matters relating to training of staff after recruitment.
  • To periodically review the status of observations of the Comptroller and Auditor General of India (and other inspecting authorities) on the working of the unit and of the action taken by the Unit to improve performance and/or avoid recurrence of deficiencies.
  • To consider and decide any other matter referred by the Director or any other Member of the Council or the Department of Atomic Energy.

Council Members

The Council of Management of AMD was reconstituted periodically. The present council reconstituted vide Office Order No: 12/4(2)/2015-I&M(AMD)/13582 Dt. 05/11/2019 with following members.

1. Chairman, AEC & Secretary, DAE Chairman
2. Dr. G.K. Dey, Former Director, Materials Group, BARC Co-Chairman
3. Dr. Dinesh Srivastava, Chief Executive, NFC, Hyderabad Member
4. Joint Secretary (R&D), DAE Member
5. Joint Secretary (F), DAE Member
6. Chairman and Managing Director, Uranium Corporation of India Ltd. Member
7. Chairman and Managing Director, Indian Rare Earths Ltd. Member
8. Director, National Geophysical Research Institute Member
9. Director, Materials Group, BARC Member
10. Dr. Ashwini Kumar Rai, Former Director, AMD Member
11. Shri Ravi Prakash Verma, Former Dy. Director General, GSI, Jaipur Member
12. Director, AMD Member
13. Additional Director (Operations-I), AMD Member
14. Additional Director (Operations-II), AMD Member
15. Additional Director (Operations-III), AMD Member
16. Additional Director (R&D), AMD Member
17. Shri Baltej Singh, Member, NCPW Member
18. Head, Planning and Management Services Group (PMSG), AMD Non-Member Secretary